Scholarship Trust



Governor of New South Wales


Professor Dame Marie Bashir AD CVO

Major General The Hon Michael Jeffrey AC  AO (Mil) CVO  MC (Ret’d)

Nyunggai Warren Mundine AO

Trust Board

David Slessar OBE  (Chairman)

Hon Justice Michael Pembroke

John James

Trust Council

Adjunct Professor Robin Fitzsimons

Alice M Ilich

John James

Hon Justice Michael Pembroke

The Rev Andrew Sempell

David Slessar OBE (Chairman)



The Governor Phillip Scholarship is proudly supported by our sponsors and friends

Norton Rose Fulbright
PwC Australia
Krull Design+Advertising

Mr & Mrs William Best
Adjunct Professor Robin Fitzsimons
The Glendonbrook Foundation
Alice M Ilich
John James
Paul Lewis
The Hon Justice Michael Pembroke
Richard Sapsford
The Rev Andrew Sempell
David Slessar OBE
Rob Thomas AM
David Turner


Governor Phillip’s legacy of nation building, rule of law, diplomacy, public health and defence of indigenous rights through learning, innovation and leadership is relevant today as it was in 1788.

The Governor Phillip Trust is seeking the support of governments, corporations and individuals who are committed to the pursuit of Phillip’s ideals in the advancement of modern Australia, through tax free donations to an endowment fund or annual contributions.

The Scholarship Trust seeks pro bono support with professional consulting, marketing and management services, as well as tuition and living expenses of Scholars.

The Trust would also be grateful for the support of governments and corporations in showcasing Scholars to the community and offering employment opportunities on completion of their studies.

All donors and supporters will be gratefully acknowledged for their contribution to this outstanding national initiative, and can take satisfaction from their contribution to modern Australia and furthering its ties with the United Kingdom.